Historic Quaker Burial Ground Open Days
Come and experience the peaceful burial ground, established in 1662. Find out why there is a separate burial ground for Quakers and how the memorial stones exemplify the principles of simplicity and equality which are part of Quaker belief.
Entrance is on The Avenue, corner of Brighton Road, Southampton.
Saturday 2nd October 2021, 10am – 4pm NOT OPEN ON 2ND BECAUSE OF PREDICTED BAD WEATHER
Saturday 9th October 2021, 10am – 4pm INTENDING TO OPEN ON 9TH
The Quaker Burial Ground in The Avenue as part of the history of Southampton Quakers
One of the earliest Southampton Quakers was George Embree. He lived in the parish of All Saints and early Quaker Meetings were held at his house.
George Embree bought a piece of land known as the ‘cabbidge plot’ on the road leading to Winchester and presented it to the Meeting in 1662 as a burial ground, since when it has been in continual use, and is now the only private burial ground in Southampton. George died in September 1678 and left a legacy to Southampton Friends.
By 1880 the town was extending rapidly northwards and the Meeting House was described as ‘situate in a degraded part of the town’. The decision was taken to build a new Meeting House in Ordnance Road, conveniently close to the burial ground in the Avenue.
More information and photographs are here.